The Bible 

The Historical Books

The historical books include:

1 and 2 Samuel

1 and 2 Kings

1 and 2 Chronicles



1 and 2 Maccabees

Special literary group of Tobit, Judith, and Esther.

These books cover the life of the nation from their possession of the land down to the two deportations and loss of the land because of unbelief and disobedience. Covering about 800 years of Israel’s history, these twelve books tell about the conquering and possession of Canaan, the reigns of the judges, the establishment of kings, the division of Israel into the northern and Southern Kingdoms, the fall of the Northern Kingdom to Assyria, the exile of the Southern Kingdom into Babylon, and the return to Jerusalem under the leadership of men like Nehemiah and Ezra.

The Monarchy: These books trace the history of Israel’s monarchy from its establishment to its destruction in 586 B.C.

1 Samuel                     The stabilization of the nation

2 Samuel                     The expansion of the nation

1 Kings 1-10               The Glorification of the nation

1 Kings 11-22             The division of the nation

2 Kings 1-17               The deterioration of the Northern Kingdom

2 Kings 18-25             The deportation of the Southern Kingdom

1 Chronicles               The preparation of the Temple

2 Chronicles               The destruction of the Temple

1 and 2 Maccabees    The struggle in Palestine over a period of fifty years, God watches over his own.

The Restoration: These books describe the return of a remnant to the land after 70 years of captivity (605-536 B.C.).

Ezra                            The restoration of the Temple

Nehemiah                   The reconstruction of the city

Literary Group:

Tobit                           The teaching on the intercession of angels, piety, and reverence for the dead.

Judith                         The deliverance of Israel from a foreign army by Judith

Esther                         The protection of the nation’s people